I re-read ‘All The Bright Places’ by Jennifer Niven recently

It gets to me every time. Instead of sharing the cover of the book as I know the book has been popular and the cover has been everywhere… I’ve compiled some of my favourite Finch quotes. And now I want to speak about Finch. My beloved Finch.

“The story of a girl who learns to live from a boy that wants to die.”

My poor, beloved Finch.

He is the sort of guy who’d slice his own arm off if it meant helping someone else. He talked a girl he doesn’t know out of suicide when he’s thinking about it himself. He wears personas like hats… none ever quite fitting. He plays guitars in loads of bands and loves to travel across the country, being everywhere at once, speeding in his car ‘Little Bastard’ to feel the rush, a connection to life.

But it can’t go fast enough to keep up with his thoughts.

He’s a boy with fury in his heart that he can’t always contain and a crack in his head from his father. Who wants to stay Awake. Who has intense highs and impossible lows, but hides this all behind a mask of a quick word and charm.

Theodore Finch, you are an amazing character. I hope this gives people who haven’t read the book a glimpse into him. There’s more I could say, but I’ll end it here.

‘I am disappearing. Maybe I am already gone.’ – Theodore Finch.

Ahh this book.

Leave a Reply

